Brad Buckley wins state representative race

In the U.S. Senate race, Republican incumbent Ted Cruz won Lampasas County 78 percent to Democrat Beto O'Rourke's 21 percent. The race was much closer statewide, however -- with Cruz getting 51 percent of the votes and O'Rourke collecting 48 percent.




In the race for District 54 state senator, Republican Brad Buckley lost Bell County to Democrat Kathy Richerson by about 900 votes. Buckley's large margin of victory in Lampasas County enabled him to prevail districtwide, however.

With results submitted from 99 percent of precincts statewide, Republican U.S. Senator Ted Cruz appeared to have defeated Democratic challenger Beto O'Rourke.

Cruz dominated Lampasas County, with 78 percent of the votes to O'Rourke's 21 percent. Statewide, however, Cruz's margin of victory was much smaller -- 51 percent to O'Rourke's 48 percent. Statewide, with results counted from 7,863 of the 7,939 voting precincts, Cruz had 4,228,832 votes to O'Rourke's 4,015,082.

Both in Lampasas County and statewide, Libertarian Neal M. Dikeman had less than 1 percent of the votes in the U.S. Senate race.

In the contest for District 54 state representative, Republican Brad Buckley used his large margin of victory in Lampasas County to prevail districtwide over Democratic opponent Kathy Richerson.

District 54 includes Lampasas County and part of Bell County. Richerson won Bell County with 20,805 votes -- or 51 percent -- to Buckley's 19,911 votes, or 49 percent.

Buckley, however, won Lampasas County 81 percent to 19 percent. Buckley's nearly 4,600-vote advantage in Lampasas County -- 6,013 to 1,417 -- gave him enough cushion to win the district by about 3,700 votes. Across the entire district, Buckley received 25,924 votes -- or 54 percent -- to Richerson's 22,222 votes, or 46 percent.

The following Republican incumbents won Lampasas County with more than 75 percent of the votes: District 25 U.S. Representative Roger Williams, Governor Greg Abbott and Lt. Governor Dan Patrick.

Williams' margin of victory was not as big districtwide as it was in Lampasas County. For the whole district, which stretches from the Austin area to North Texas, Williams had 162,288 votes -- about 54 percent -- to Democratic opponent Julie Oliver's 135,288 votes -- about 45 percent. Libertarian Desarae Lindsey had 5,124 votes districtwide -- about 2 percent.

Abbott and Patrick had much closer races statewide than they did in Lampasas County. Abbott defeated Democratic challenger Lupe Valdez about 56 percent to 43 percent. The incumbent governor received 4,622,407 votes statewide to Valdez's 3,520,868. Libertarian candidate Mark Jay Tippetts got 139,824 votes, or about 2 percent.

Patrick got 4,229,793 votes across Texas -- or 51 percent. Democratic challenger Mike Collier had 46 percent with 3,833,069 votes. Libertarian Kerry Douglas McKennon got 183,185 votes -- about 2 percent.

In western parts of Lampasas County, an alcohol proposition in justice of the peace Precincts 2 and 3 passed overwhelmingly. The proposition -- to allow the sale of wine on the premises of a winery permit holder -- passed 88 percent to 12 percent, or 535 votes to 72 votes.

The following candidates for Lampasas County offices won without opponents: Randy Hoyer, county judge; Edith Wagner Harrison, district clerk; Connie Hartmann, county clerk; Melissa Karcher, county treasurer; Paul Maples, county surveyor; Jamie Smart, Precinct 2 county commissioner; Mark Rainwater, Precinct 4 county commissioner; Andrew Garcia Jr., Precinct 1 justice of the peace; Camron Brister, Precinct 2&3 justice of the peace; Greg Chapman, Precinct 4 justice of the peace; Dennis A. James, Precinct 1 constable; Shane Brown, Precinct 4 constable.