2010-02-12 / Front Page

Ballot listings noted

Early voting for the Democratic and Republican March 2 primaries begins Tuesday and continues through Feb. 26 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. weekdays at the office of the Lampasas County elections administrator, 412 S. Live Oak.

The general election will occur in November.

Following is a list of candidates on the ballots.

Governor: Republican candidates are incumbent Rick Perry, Debra Medina and Kay Bailey Hutchison. Democratic candidates are Alma Ludivina Aguado, Bill Dear, Farouk Shami, Felix Alvarado, Bill White, Star Locke and Clement E. Glenn.

Lt. governor: The Republican incumbent is David Dewhurst, while Democratic candidates are Mark Katz, Ronnie Earle and Linda Chavez-Thompson.

Attorney general: Incumbent Greg Abbott, a Republican, will be challenged by Barbara Ann Radnofsky, a Democrat, in November.

Comptroller of public accounts: Susan Combs, the Republican incumbent, has no challengers.

Commissioner of the General Land Office: Republican incumbent Jerry Patterson will face off against either Democrat Bill Burton or Democrat Hector Uribe in the fall.

United States representative, District 11: Mike Conaway, the Republican incumbent, is being challenged by Republicans Chris Younts and Al Cowan for the party nomination. The top vote-getter will face Democrat James Quillan in November.

Commissioner of agriculture: Republican Todd Staples, the incumbent, will face a challenge from either Hank Gilbert or Richard “Kinky” Friedman, both Democratic Party candidates, in November voting.

Railroad commissioner: David Porter, a Republican, is challenging the incumbent Republican Victor G. Carrillo for the party nomination. The Democratic challenger is Jeff Weems.

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3: Republicans on the ballot include Jeff Brown, Rebecca Simmons, Rick Strange, Jim Moseley, Debra Lehrmann and Rick Green. One of them will face Democrat candidate Jim Sharp in the fall.

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5: Paul Green, the Republican incumbent, will square off with Democrat Bill Moody in November.

Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9: Republicans Rose Vela and Eva Guzman, the incumbent, are vying for the GOP nomination. The winner will face Democrat Blake Bailey on the fall ballot.

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2: Lawrence “Larry” Myers, the incumbent Republican, is the lone candidate.

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5: Republican incumbent Cheryl Johnson has no challengers.

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6: Incumbent Michael E. Keasler, a Republican, will face Democrat candidate Keith Hampton in November.

Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals District, Place 4: Republicans Melissa Goodwin and Scott Field are vying for their party’s nod to face challenger Kurt Kuhn, a Democrat, in the fall.

State representative, District 54: Jimmie Don Aycock, the Republican incumbent, is the lone candidate.

Lampasas County judge: Incumbent Wayne Boultinghouse, a Republican, is unopposed.

District clerk: Terri Jo Cox, the Republican incumbent, has no challengers.

County clerk: Democrat Connie Hartmann, the incumbent, is unopposed.

County treasurer: Republican Nelda DeRiso, the incumbent, is unchallenged.

County commissioner, Precinct 2: Alex Wittenburg, the Republican incumbent, faces no challengers.

County commissioner, Precinct 4: Marcus L. Foster and incumbent Jack B. Cox are vying for the Republican Party nomination and the right to face Democratic challenger Brent Henderson in November.

Justice of the peace, Precinct 1: The Republican incumbent, Andrew Garcia Jr., is the lone candidate.

Justice of the peace, Precinct 2 and 3: Republicans William “WD” Crain, David R. Ivey, incumbent R.E. “Dick” Lockett and Camron D. Brister are vying for the post.

Justice of the peace, Precinct 4: Sheila Blackwell Hood has no challengers. She is the Republican incumbent.

Republican Party county chairman: Skipper Wallace faces no opposition.

Democratic Party county chairman: Bruce Frizzell is unchallenged for the position.

In addition to the candidates up for election, the Republican Party primary ballot contains five propositions. Voters can vote “yes” or “no” on the following:

Proposition 1: Photo ID “The Texas Legislature should make it a priority to protect the integrity of our election process by enacting legislation that requires voters to provide valid photo identification in order to cast a ballot in any and all elections conducted in the State of Texas.”

Proposition 2: Controlling Government Growth “Every government body in Texas should be required to limit any annual increase in its budget and spending to the combined increase of population and inflation unless it first gets voter approval to exceed the allowed annual growth or in the case of an official emergency.”

Proposition 3: Cutting Federal Income Taxes “In addition to aggressively eliminating irresponsible federal spending, Congress should empower American citizens to stimulate the economy by Congress cutting federal income taxes for all federal taxpayers, rather than spending hundreds of billions of dollars on socalled ‘federal economic stimu- lus.’”

Proposition 4: Public Acknowledgement of God “The use of the word ‘God,’ prayers, and the Ten Commandments should be allowed at public gatherings and public educational institutions, as well as be permitted on government buildings and property.”

Proposition 5: Sonograms “The Texas Legislature should enact legislation requiring a sonogram to be performed and shown to each mother about to undergo a medically unnecessary, elective abortion.”

Return to top